West Africa Economic Outlook 2022

Chapter 1 of this report looks at these conditions in some length. The analysis covers all the 15 member countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo. It also enumerates outlooks and risks and policy options that might be pursued in the immediate/short term and the medium-to-long term. Chapter 2 of this report is devoted to the theme of the 2022 edition of the African Development Bank’s African Economic Outlook: supporting climate resilience and a just energy transition. The chapter conducts a thorough analysis of climate resilience and a just energy transition in West African economies. Finally, Chapter 3 proposes policy recommendations for improving climate resilience and accelerating the energy transition. It discusses challenges and opportunities for low-carbon development and identifies innovative financing instruments to support climate resilience and the energy transition in West Africa.

Related Content