Ambient air quality status and trends in Odisha (2006 – 2014)

The State Pollution Control Board, Odisha has been monitoring the Ambient Air Quality at 32 locations in 13 towns/cities, viz., Angul-Talcher, Balasore, Berhampur, Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Kalinganagar, Keonjhar, Konark, Paradeep, Puri, Rayagada, Rourkela and Sambalpur under the National Air Quality Monitoring Programme (NAMP) and State Air Quality Monitoring Programme (SAMP). This report describes the summary of the findings over the period 2006-2014 on the trend of the air quality, seasonal variation, non-attainment areas, etc. The monitoring results indicate that at all the places concentration of Sulphur Dioxide (SO2) and Oxide of Nitrogen (NOX) in the ambient air remained much below the prescribed standards. However, in majority of the towns, the levels of Respirable Suspended Particulate Matter (RSPM) and Suspended Particulate Matter (SPM) are the main problems responsible for downgrading the Ambient Air Quality.