National 1.5°C compatible emissions pathways and consistent power sector benchmarks in Africa

This report presents domestic emissions pathways required to keep to the Paris Agreement’s 1.5°C limit for eight African countries: Botswana, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal and South Africa. These pathways, assessed with other lines of scientific evidence, exhibit how these countries can update their 2030 targets (NDCs) and develop long-term, low-carbon development strategies in line with the Paris Agreement, living up to their promises to prevent dangerous climate change. This report draws on the analyses from the 1.5°C national pathway explorer for the eight countries.